Team Petronas Syntium wins Merdeka Millennium Endurance Race

Coming close on second is Petronas’ other team of whom was heading towards victory but faced some tough luck when they had a puncture with only 20 minutes left. Team Petronas Syntium’s other team with Masataka Yanagida, Nobuteru Taniguchi and Fariqe Hairuman on the wheels would have won if not for the puncture, but Petronas still managed to hand on for a rare one-two on the podium.

According to one of the winning team’s driver Johan Adzmi, “It was a real honor to be able to race with the two experienced Super GT drivers (Tatsuya and Manabu) as they thought me a lot through the race. Our strategy was to take it easy on the car and complete the race and that’s what we did and it pulled through for us.”

Coming in on third place is the team from Singapore’s Porsche Club where Darryle Hayden O’Young, Mok Weng Sun and Craig George Baird took turns. The team started last on the grid while Alex Yoong, Faizal Zelman and Wira Dani won the A1 class with their Radical. Wira said “This shows how reliable the Radical can be, although we had a bit of a starter problem when we pitted in to refuel but it was rectified with replacing the starter which only took eight minutes to do, thanks to my crew for that,”

Dato’ Azman Yahya, the chairman of the Motorsports Association of Malaysia, accompanied by Datuk Mokhzani Mahathir, the Chairman of the SIC, Razlan Razali, the track’s CEO, Tunku Mudzaffar, the chairman of AAM and Azrina Abdul Aziz, the GM of Petronas Motorsports officiated the race which saw Porsche Club Singapore, the defending champion’s car stalling but still managed to work their way up to third place.