Webber wins Spanish GP, Schumi gets fourth

Lewis Hamilton on the McLaren was second until he crashed out in the finishing lap and Red Bull’s other driver Sebastien Vettel took home third place. Mercedes Formula 1 team had something to celebrate this time around with 7 time world champion Michael Schumacher finishing fourth, the best from him since returning to the fold. He had to overcome some difficult opposition from Jenson Button on the McLaren. Felipa Massa was sixth while Adrian Sutil from Force India finished seventh. Robert Kubica of Renault followed ahead of Rubens Barrichello from Williams with Jaime Alguersurai from Toro Rosso concluding in the top 10.

In the contest among the new teams, Jarno Trulli of Lotus Racing finished seventeenth while both drivers from Virgin Racing finished last and second last. The Hispania drivers did not finish while Lotus’ other driver Heikki Kovalainen also did not finish as his car could not start in the 66 lap race. Others who retired include Pedro de la Rosa and Sebastien Buemi from Sauber and Toro Rosso respectively.

The race was pretty event-less with many predicting a wet race but the contrary happened. Webber had started leading the race from Lap 3 with his team mate Vettel on second with Hamilton, Alonso, Button and Schumacher trailing. Hamilton was pretty much at second place ahead of Vettel after the pit stop while Schumacher also went to fifth place where he spent quite a long duration fending off Button from overtaking him. His team mate Nico Rosberg however spend most of the race in the middle positions which was where he finished. After the race, Jenson Button is still leading the Driver’s standings with 70 points while Alonso is 3 points behind and Vettel is 60 points at third. McLaren leads the Constructor’s standings with 119 points and Ferrari is also 3 points behind. The F1 circus heads to Monaca next.